Patience 

A few weeks ago I went home to a small village called Rood-Huis in the Limpopo. It had been quite some time since I went. Due to fear of being judged I will not mention how long it had been since the last I was home. 

Everytime when I am about to go home I get very excited sometimes I’m not even able to eat anything before hitting the road.

Having done this journey countless times I must say I know what lies ahead. I know I will have to cover at least 600 kms over the next few hours to reach my destination. 

One thing I have observed is that I tend to enjoy the journey more when I’m travelling other with people in the car. Whenever I drive alone I tend to want to cover the trip as soon as possible and instead of enjoying the journey I tend to enjoy the drive. True petrolheads will know the difference. 

Since this article is not about cars I’ll restrain myself with great difficulty as my love for cars is public knowledge. 

The first thing that comes to mind is that if I drive at this speed I will be able to get home at this hour. So there’s a temptation to drive faster and arrive early to the destination. 

As tempting as that may sound it comes with its own challenges. Firstly the car will use fuel in a very inefficient way. You might face arrest by the authorities for not observing traffic rules. And at worst you may not arrive at home alive. 

It’s interesting that this anology makes sense but we fail to see the same logic when it comes to planning our lives. Early this year I was faced with the same dilemma. It took a frank conversation with a trusted friend and confidant to make me see sense. 

I had an opportunity to finish a project I started in 2015 in six months. Less than two weeks before I had finalised my vision list for 2017. According to that plan I was meant to finish the project in twelve months instead of the the six. 

Experience was definitely against me as I had failed to complete the same volume of work over six months. Sanity had to prevail. 

A conversation I had yesterday over lunch with a colleague reminded me of the power of patience. We were using the decision to pursue a qualification as a subject of the conversation. On average a new qualification will take you at least two years and most probably three years to complete.

Patience is defined as the capacity to accept or tolerate delay, problem, or suffering without becoming annoyed or anxious.

The capacity to tolerate a delay in one’s career and dedicate the 24 months towards one’s journey. More often the rewards are worth it. I always hold the belief that any effort towards self improvement will always yield results. 

The journey will come with a sacrifice as it will mean forsaking all sorts of temptations along the way. Some of the opportunities will require nerves of steel to walk away from but if one is convicted about why they started this journey in the first place it will be easy to keep going and have the patience to endure until the goal is reached.  

Leave a Reply

